The children’s choice - ★★★★★

Sarah Crompton, The Telegraph August 26th, 2009


Comedy Club 4 Kids (★★★★★), held at The Bongo Club is a perfect choice

Taking children to the Edinburgh Festival is rather like taking them shopping for clothes. When they are young, the choice is huge. As they get a bit bigger and more demanding in their tastes, most shows they want to see are too adult and too knowing; the fare supposedly suitable for them is too cute and childish. They want the theatrical equivalent of Top Shop — and get Petit Bateau.

Or at least that is what I have discovered taking nine-year-old Teodoro and Augusto, 12, around with me. In this context, Comedy Club 4 Kids (★★★★★), held at The Bongo Club is a perfect choice. It is designed for over-sixes, allowing them to relax in a setting that mimics a grown-up comedy venue, without the risk of offensive material spurting from the stand-up’s mouth.

Well-established comics perform each night. When we were there, Matt Green and Andrew O’Neill produced rather underwhelming, punchline-free sets. But the host was Tiernan Douieb, and he had delighted giggles running round the room as he read aloud the list of banned words (a lot of bum and poo) and drew the children into collusion.

It was fun for the adults too, but most of all it felt safe for the kids. Teodoro was perfectly happy to shout out loudly that, if he ruled the world, he would behead all adults, which invited a swift rejoinder. “But what would happen when you were 18?” asked Douieb. “You haven’t thought this through.”

Latest From
Our Blog

Wednesday, January 30th, 2019
Vault Festival line-ups revealed!
Friday, December 14th, 2018
MERRY CRISPMAS!

Come & See Us
Upcoming Shows!

Saturday 16th March 2019,
Museum of London Docklands, Canary Wharf
Saturday 16th March 2019,
Soho Theatre, London
Sunday 17th March 2019,
Museum of London Docklands, Canary Wharf
Saturday 30th March 2019,
Pound Arts, Corsham
Sunday 31st March 2019,
Watermans Arts Centre, Brentford
Saturday 6th April 2019,
Salisbury Playhouse
Sunday 7th April 2019,
Arts Depot, North Finchley
Thursday 11th April 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Saturday 13th April 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Wednesday 17th April 2019,
Barnsley Civic
Friday 19th April 2019,
Santa Pod Raceway
Monday 22nd April 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 27th April 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Saturday 4th May 2019,
The Gulbenkian, Canterbury
Saturday 4th May 2019,
Chipping Norton Theatre
Saturday 11th May 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Komedia, Brighton
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Kendal Brewery Arts
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Thursday 30th May 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Friday 31st May 2019,
The Point, Eastleigh
Sunday 2nd June 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 8th June 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 12th October 2019,
Komedia, Brighton

Latest From
Our Twitter