I genuinely laughed until I cried - ★★★★

One4Review August 9th, 2017


"Comedy Club 4 Kids is a staple of a comedy loving parent’s fringe... I genuinely laughed until I cried."

Comedy Club 4 Kids is a staple of a comedy loving parent’s fringe. OK, so the acts talk more about farts and poo than at most (but certainly not all) fringe stand-up shows, but you do get to see actual stand-up, which can make a welcome change.

Sometimes this is stand-ups doing a family friendly set they’re used to, sometimes they’re adapting something, sometimes newly written and less honed, and sometimes you watch comedians suddenly remember that their punchline relies on a swear word, just before they get there. It’s always entertaining one way or another.

The line up varies daily, but I was introduced to an act I’d never seen before in the form of Butt Kaplinski, detective. The usual show is for adults, and I’m hoping to catch it, as this glimpse made for fascinating fun.

The compere, Matt Highton was clearly confident in the target level for his audience, and kept the children giggling. Jack Barry did a short set that worked well, though is material I’d heard before.

However, the reason this show gets a star better than I gave it last year, is one man: Stuart Goldsmith. I couldn’t make my usual notes for laughing so hard to his routine about saying “No” to strangers. I genuinely laughed until I cried. A hilarious finale for a fun hour’s family friendly stand up.

Latest From
Our Blog

Wednesday, January 30th, 2019
Vault Festival line-ups revealed!
Friday, December 14th, 2018
MERRY CRISPMAS!

Come & See Us
Upcoming Shows!

Saturday 16th March 2019,
Museum of London Docklands, Canary Wharf
Saturday 16th March 2019,
Soho Theatre, London
Sunday 17th March 2019,
Museum of London Docklands, Canary Wharf
Saturday 30th March 2019,
Pound Arts, Corsham
Sunday 31st March 2019,
Watermans Arts Centre, Brentford
Saturday 6th April 2019,
Salisbury Playhouse
Sunday 7th April 2019,
Arts Depot, North Finchley
Thursday 11th April 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Saturday 13th April 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Wednesday 17th April 2019,
Barnsley Civic
Friday 19th April 2019,
Santa Pod Raceway
Monday 22nd April 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 27th April 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Saturday 4th May 2019,
The Gulbenkian, Canterbury
Saturday 4th May 2019,
Chipping Norton Theatre
Saturday 11th May 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Komedia, Brighton
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Kendal Brewery Arts
Saturday 18th May 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Thursday 30th May 2019,
Drill Hall, Lincoln
Friday 31st May 2019,
The Point, Eastleigh
Sunday 2nd June 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 8th June 2019,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 12th October 2019,
Komedia, Brighton

Latest From
Our Twitter