The children’s choice - ★★★★★

Sarah Crompton, The Telegraph August 26th, 2009


Comedy Club 4 Kids (★★★★★), held at The Bongo Club is a perfect choice

Taking children to the Edinburgh Festival is rather like taking them shopping for clothes. When they are young, the choice is huge. As they get a bit bigger and more demanding in their tastes, most shows they want to see are too adult and too knowing; the fare supposedly suitable for them is too cute and childish. They want the theatrical equivalent of Top Shop — and get Petit Bateau.

Or at least that is what I have discovered taking nine-year-old Teodoro and Augusto, 12, around with me. In this context, Comedy Club 4 Kids (★★★★★), held at The Bongo Club is a perfect choice. It is designed for over-sixes, allowing them to relax in a setting that mimics a grown-up comedy venue, without the risk of offensive material spurting from the stand-up’s mouth.

Well-established comics perform each night. When we were there, Matt Green and Andrew O’Neill produced rather underwhelming, punchline-free sets. But the host was Tiernan Douieb, and he had delighted giggles running round the room as he read aloud the list of banned words (a lot of bum and poo) and drew the children into collusion.

It was fun for the adults too, but most of all it felt safe for the kids. Teodoro was perfectly happy to shout out loudly that, if he ruled the world, he would behead all adults, which invited a swift rejoinder. “But what would happen when you were 18?” asked Douieb. “You haven’t thought this through.”

Latest From
Our Blog

Tuesday, July 21st, 2020
AN ACTUAL GIG
Saturday, May 9th, 2020
Watsonathon Merch
Wednesday, April 15th, 2020
NextUp Live-Stream!
Wednesday, April 1st, 2020
More Resources
Friday, March 27th, 2020
New Quizzes

Come & See Us
Upcoming Shows!

Saturday 31st July 2021,
ETT Trailer Stories, Newcastle
Sunday 1st August 2021,
ETT Trailer Stories, Newcastle
Sunday 1st August 2021,
Camp Bestival
Thursday 5th August 2021,
Ropetackle Arts Centre, Shoreham-by-Sea
Thursday 5th August 2021,
Watermans Arts Centre, Brentford
Saturday 7th August 2021,
ETT Trailer Stories, Keswick
Saturday 7th August 2021,
Watford Stage In The Park
Sunday 8th August 2021,
ETT Trailer Stories, Keswick
Sunday 8th August 2021,
Coventry, Assembly Festival Garden
Thursday 12th to Sunday 22nd August 2021,
Assembly Roxy, Edinburgh
Sunday 15th August 2021,
Salford Lowry, Big Top In The Park
Tuesday 24 August 2021,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 4th September 2021,
Nonsuch-on-Trent Festival, Nottingham
Saturday 4th September 2021,
Coventry, Assembly Festival Garden
Saturday 18th September 2021,
Chichester Festival Theatre
Saturday 25th September 2021,
Newhampton Arts Centre, Wolverhampton
Sunday 26 September 2021,
Underbelly Festival, London
Saturday 2nd October 2021,
Kendal Brewery Arts
Sunday 3rd October,
Arts Depot, North Finchley
Saturday 9th October 2021,
Pegasus Theatre, Oxford
Saturday 9th October 2021,
Royal Spa Centre, Leamington Spa
Tuesday 26th October 2021,
The Brewhouse, Taunton
Tuesday 26th October 2021,
Regis Centre, Bognor Regis
Saturday 31st October 2021,
The Georgian Theatre Royal
Saturday 13th November 2021,
Norwich Arts Centre

Latest From
Our Twitter